Discovering the Wonders of the Seven Hills of Rome

The seven hills which were full of activity in ancient Rome: Caelian Hill; which was where much of Rome’s elite lived, Aventine Hill; home of the plebeians who built a temple to Ceres in the 5th century BC, Capitoline Hill; the hill of the government, Esquiline Hill; which had a walled city, Palatine Hill; where the rich and powerful lived, walled villages and tombs have been found, Quirinal Hill; where the Sabines once lived and built their city, and Viminal Hill; the smallest of the great hills and the last to be included inside the walls of Rome. Close by to The Seven Hills of Rome you will find an abundance of Rome apartments and Rome hotels for your convenience.

Palantine Hill, where Rome is said to have been founded by Romulus is perhaps the best known of the seven hills, whilst the others still played important roles in Roman mythology, politics and religion.

Initially and traditionally, the seven hills were occupied by small settlements and not grouped or recognized as a city called Rome. The denizens of the seven hills began to participate in a series of religious games which started to bond the groups together. The city of Rome thus came into being as these separate settlements acted as a group, draining the marshy valleys between them and turning them into markets and fora.

The now-famous Vatican Hill (Latin Collis Vaticanus) is northwest of the Tiber and is not one of the Seven Hills of Rome. Likewise, the Pincian Hill (Latin Mons Pincius), to the north, and the Janiculum Hill (Latin Ianiculum), to the west, are not counted among the traditional Seven Hills.

Nowadays on top of Quirinal Hill, (The tallest of the seven hills), you will find The Quirinal Palace, which is the official residence of the President of the Italian Republic, in the past it housed Popes and Kings… The façade was designed by Domenico Fontana. Its ‘Great Chapel’ was designed by Carlo Maderno. It contains frescos by Guido Reni, but the most famous fresco is the Blessing Christ by Melozzo da Forlì, placed over the stairs. Its grounds include a famous set of gardens laid out in the eighteenth century.

The Caelian Hill is the southernmost of the four large spurs. It stretches from the area of San Giovanni in Laterano to the Colosseum. It had two high points, referred to as the Larger Caelian, Caelius maior, to the west, and the Smaller Caelian, Caelius minor, to the north.

Today the Aventine Hill is beautiful. Here you will walk past beautiful Rose Gardens (roseto) and arrive at the park filled with orange trees “Parco degli aranci”. This overlooks the river and has views over the Vatican City. From this park there is a wonderful view of Rome. The nearby Church of Santa Sabina dates back to 450AD, the other churches on the hill; Santa Prisca, Santa Anselmo, and Santa Alessio are also very eye catching. From your Rome accommodation in the heart of the city, the closest metro is that of Circo Massimo, and the hill is only a short walk from there.


Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: